Tuesday, May 10, 2011

PAARL in Captivating Capiz

Selected photos taken at the recent Summer Conference held in San Antonio Resort, Baybay Beach, Roxas City with a side trip to Boracay last April 27-29, are now accessible here:


More photos at our PAARL Facebook page here: https://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=62984064607&ref=nf

More than 90 chose to spend time in Captivating Capiz, Roxas City and listened to PAARL’s sessions on Library Tourism & Hospitality: the Business of Endearing Libraries & Information Centers to Publics. San Antonio Beach Resort, specifically, provided its 1st class facilities and services, as 2nd home to participants for more than three days from April 26 to May 1, 2011. Quality resource persons namely, Atty. Gezzez Giezi G.Granado (UST), Mr. Michael Pinto (USL-Tugegarao), Ms. Zarah Gagatiga, Ms. Victoria Baleva (CEU), Prof. Rowena U. Apolinario (UP-Diliman), Ms. Florbella Bongalos (DLSU-Manila), Ms. Sharon Ma. Esposo (UP-Diliman), Mr.Christopher C. Paras and Elvira B. Lapuz (UP-Diliman) facilitated innovative topics and accomplished conference objectives.

There were fifty-three (53) institutions with eighty-seven (87) participants, 40 from NCR, 20 from the Visayaas Region, and 4 from the Mindanao Region. Luzon and non-NCR were 23.

Ms. Flor Domingo (ADM U) and Mr. Gabriel L. Balenbin (Don Bosco Technical Institute) wowed the audience as they were proclaimed as Best in Outfit during the Carribean-themed fellowship last 28th of April, night time of the 2nd day of the conference. Also, Don Bosco’s library head, Mr. Gilbert S. Arietta and his voice quality plus stage presence made him bring home cash prize for besting others in the Videoke Solo Singing Contest. The group of Inocencio Raquenio (CSB) won both in the Lambada and Conga categories with their creativity and choreography on the dance floor with 94 and 92 percentages/ratings, respectively. The group led by Ms. Roselle May Dadal (PDIC) and artist-librarian Ms. Mary Ann J. Salvador (DLSU-Dasma) with the entry Connecting Philippine Libraries won the judges’ nod for Esposo’s Create-PAARL’s New Logo-Design-Brand. Judges were Association’s president, UST’s Ms. Susan Pador (2003) and UP’s Ms. Elvira B. Lapuz (2009) with DLSU’s Mr. Roderick B. Ramos (2011). Great emcees were 2010 president, Mr. Christopher Paras and 2011 Board Secretary Ms. Sharon Ma.Esposo (UP).

No comments:

Post a Comment